2016 Reflection: Lake George, NY in January

2016 was a big year for me. It changed a lot of aspects of my life, mostly for the better. I started a new relationship. I graduated from college with a Bachelor’s Degree in Biology. I got a job in my field right after graduation and I moved away from home to start said job in Upstate New York. I learned a lot about what I truly want out of my life. I discovered how much a person can come to mean to you. I learned what it means to truly be on your own in a new place. I embraced the mountains and all the beauty they have to offer, something I never would have expected to do in my life. Starting this new chapter of my life was the best thing that has ever happened to me. I now take the time to read a good book, pursue a new hobby, adopt a new pet (my rabbit, Elliott), and even take a solo trip to Lake George simply because I wanted to experience nature and capture its radiance with my new camera.

On Saturday, January 14, 2017 I took a trip up to Lake George to experiment with my new DSLR camera that I recently purchased. I drove the hour on the Thruway jamming out to whatever came onto my SoundCloud account and soon arrived in the beautiful town of Bolton Landing on the shores of Lake George, New York. I drove around on winding mountain roads lined with ice covered pine trees and gorgeous lake views. I lost cell service several times and began to worry about what I would do if something were to happen to me. That fear quickly dissipated though, when I spotted some wild turkeys along the side of the road and decided to pull over to get a closer look. I was having so much fun and I was completely and utterly alone. I stopped at a scenic lookout in the town of Silver Bay shortly past Bolton Landing and took some pictures of the breathtaking sights.img_0085The view from a scenic lookout along Route 9 in Lake George, NY.

I drove down to Lake George Village at the south end of the lake and admired ducks quacking as they moved across the icy water. I walked along empty docks that led my eyes across the water to islands of pine trees and mountain views in the distance. I experimented with my new Canon EOS T6 camera, trying to implement what I learned in the book, Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson that I read the night before. It was peaceful and serene, being on the shores of Lake George in the middle of January. Few people were around to distract me and I simply enjoyed nature as it was: beautiful, quiet, and calming. It was the first time that I ever took a trip for the purpose of experiencing something on my own.fullsizeoutput_598img_0137fullsizeoutput_59dSome pictures I took on my new camera!

I hope 2017 is my year. I want it to be the year that I truly stop caring what others think of me (except for the people that I care about of course). I want it to be the year of accomplishing my goals and making new ones. I hope to make it the best year of my life so far because I get to do exactly what I want to do with it. The possibilities really are endless when it comes to your own life. You can make a change at any point, a new year isn’t necessary to better yourself, but it is a nice starting point. Let’s make 2017 the best year ever.

What are your big plans for 2017? Have you decided to pick up any new hobbies this year?fullsizeoutput_58a

2 thoughts on “2016 Reflection: Lake George, NY in January

Leave a Reply

