Keep Exploring: Barberville Falls, NY

When life gets busy and work gets in the way of fun plans and weekend getaways, it’s always nice to fit in a little adventure here and there especially when the temperature in upstate New York has been stuck in the teens with a windchill of zero. I’ve been meaning to get in a winter hike recently, but with working most weekends it’s been hard to find time to fit a trip to the Adirondacks or Catskills into my schedule (soon though!). This weekend though, I decided I wanted to get outside at least for a little while and brave the cold. Sometimes I just need even a few minutes to spend outside to appreciate nature to remember that spring is on its way and I’ll be back to hiking and exploring in the near future!

Today I did a little research and discovered that there was a beautiful waterfall in a nature preserve only a 15 minute drive from my apartment complex. I’ve been meaning to get to a frozen waterfall while I still had time and this one was so close I couldn’t pass it up. I convinced my boyfriend to join me (who has been sick the past few days so I really appreciate him coming with me), I grabbed my camera, and we quickly drove along the twisty back roads of Rensselaer county until we got to the small parking area for Barberville Falls Nature Preserve. After a short walk to the entrance to the preserve, we headed down a path and could hear the falls immediately. The path to the top of the falls is very short and flat, very doable for anyone. There’s also another path down to the base of the falls that we took to get a better look which was a little more difficult simply because it was covered in leaves and a little icy, but once we got to the bottom the view of the falls was beautiful.

fullsizeoutput_765

It was so unexpected to find a place like this so close to where I live and not even know it was there until today. The falls were huge, about 90 feet tall, and partially frozen in some spots which was something I had never seen before. I snapped several pictures and admired the falls before heading back since I was freezing. Although it was only a short trip, spending some time outside today definitely lifted my mood and made me more hopeful for the week ahead.

fullsizeoutput_76a.jpeg

No matter how busy life gets and no matter how little time you think that you have, its very important to make some time for the things that you enjoy the most in your schedule. For me today, that was exploring and taking photos of something beautiful. Taking an adventure doesn’t have to be an all weekend or even an all day event. It can be as short as you want it to be and still be just as amazing and just as meaningful to you.

Canon EOS Rebel T6 Review

As a side note to this post, I wanted to give a quick review of my very first DSLR camera that I purchased back in January. It is a Canon EOS Rebel T6 and I have been using it pretty often in various locations since I bought it. I have always enjoyed taking photos, but moving to New York and being surrounded by lakes, mountains, waterfalls, etc. made me more inspired to take nature photos and videos. I knew I wanted to start some sort of online presence whether it was a Youtube channel or a blog so I wanted to purchase a camera that I could use for either of those endeavors and this one fit my budget and had very good reviews online. Being new to DSLR cameras, I’m still learning a lot about all the different settings but having a camera like the Canon T6 has made me want to get outside and explore and experiment like never before. If you’ve been thinking of buying a DSLR camera just make sure it will be something that you actually get use out of because it is definitely not cheap. Also, your first DSLR does not have to be something extremely fancy since you don’t know if it will be a hobby you stick with forever. Mine is a basic model and if I continue with photography I can purchase other lenses and accessories along the way so keep that in mind as well. If you do a lot of traveling or outdoor trips and want to use something other than an iPhone camera then I definitely recommend getting a DSLR camera for high quality photos.

fullsizeoutput_5c3

What was your favorite adventure this winter? Are you looking forward to any new adventures when the weather gets warmer? What do you use to take photos when you’re out and about? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

